fbpx George Eastman Award: Vittorio Storaro | George Eastman Museum

George Eastman Award: Vittorio Storaro


Vittorio Storaro on the set of Muhammad: The Messenger of God. Courtesy of Vittorio Storaro.

The George Eastman Museum honored Academy Award-winning cinematographer Vittorio Storaro with the George Eastman Award, the museum’s highest honor in motion pictures, on Saturday, March 25, 2017. The award recognizes Storaro’s distinguished contribution to the art of film. In accepting the honor, he joins the company of film legends such as Charles Chaplin, Gary Cooper, Joan Crawford, Cecil B. DeMille, Michael Douglas, Greta Garbo, Lillian Gish, Audrey Hepburn, Gregory Peck, Martin Scorsese, James Stewart, Meryl Streep, and most recently Michael Keaton. The George Eastman Award was established in 1955 as the first retrospective film award to honor artistic work of enduring value.

During his five-decade career, Storaro has collaborated with many celebrated film directors—Bernardo Bertolucci, Francis Ford Coppola, Warren Beatty, Carlos Saura, and Woody Allen, among others—to create some of the most visually stunning motion pictures of all time. The Eastman Museum celebrated his work as one of history’s most influential cinematographers with two special events at the museum in March, and a series of eleven films that will screen at the Dryden Theatre throughout March and April.