fbpx The L. Jeffrey Selznick School Fellowships | George Eastman Museum

The L. Jeffrey Selznick School Fellowships

The Haghefilm Digitaal Fellowship +

Haghefilm Digitaal Preservation Laboratories selects the recipient of the fellowship in consultation with the L. Jeffrey Selznick School of Film Preservation. To be eligible for the fellowship, students must have successfully completed the Selznick School requirements, hold a valid passport, and, if applicable, a tourist visa. The Haghefilm Fellowship must be fulfilled between July 1 and September 30 during the year of graduation.

The Haghefilm Digitaal Conservation Laboratories in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, awards a fellowship to one student each year upon his or her graduation from the L. Jeffrey Selznick School of Film Preservation. The fellowship supports the student for one month of study and archival training at the Haghefilm Laboratories, including all travel and lodging expenses. During the term of the fellowship, the student will preserve a short film from the George Eastman Museum collection. The restored film is then presented internationally at festivals, museums, and conferences, including a world premiere at Le Giornate del Cinema Muto silent film festival. Haghefilm funds transportation and lodging for the fellowship winner to attend the festival and present his or her restoration to an international audience. The student is given credit on the restored print and receives one video copy of the film.

Past Recipients

  • 1998: Catherine Cormon (Switzerland, France)
  • 1999: Giovanni Schiano Lomoriello (Italy)
  • 2000: Wendy Glickman (United States)
  • 2001: Brigitte Paulowitz (Austria)
  • 2002: Sonia Genaitay (France)
  • 2003: Susan Busam (United States)
  • 2004: Annette Groschke (Germany)
  • 2005: Ulrich Rüdel (Germany)
  • 2006: Pat Doyen (United States)
  • 2007: Daniela Curro (Italy); Vincent Pirozzi (United States)
  • 2008: Tatiana Carvalho (Brazil)
  • 2009: Sabrina Negri (Italy)
  • 2010: Karin Carlson (United States)
  • 2011: Clara Sánchez-Dehesa Galán (Spain)
  • 2012: Josh Romphf (Canada)
  • 2013: Carole Fodor (France)
  • 2014: Lauren Alberque (United States)
  • 2015: Erin Palombi (United States)
  • 2016: Janneke van Dalen (Netherlands)
  • 2017: Sam Lane (United States)
  • 2018: Julia Mettenleiter (Germany)
  • 2019: Leenali Khairnar (India)
  • 2022: Florian Höhensteiger (Germany)
  • 2023: Alma Macbride (United States)

George Eastman Museum Film Preservation Services Fellowship +

The George Eastman Museum Film Preservation Services Fellowship is awarded every year to a student of the L. Jeffrey Selznick School of Film Preservation that has distinguished him/herself for interest and abilities in the field of digital preservation. Supported by George Eastman Museum Film Preservation Services, this fellowship aims at offering further training and experience in digital technologies applied to preservation and access.

The winner of the fellowship will perform paid work at George Eastman Museum Film Preservation Services on a full-time basis over the months of July and August. The fellowship recipient will assist the laboratory staff in day-to-day activities and take part in current digital preservation and access projects. All the activities of the fellowship recipient will be guided and supervised by the preservation manager and the digital laboratory manager at the Eastman Museum.

To be eligible for the fellowship, students must be able to arrange for their own transportation between the George Eastman Museum and George Eastman Museum Film Preservation Services at Eastman Business Park, about 8 miles away (and not covered by public transportation).

Past Recipients

  • 2015: Edward Brett Scheuermann (United States)
  • 2016: Theodore Harrison (United States)
  • 2017: Bryan Burns (United States)
  • 2017: Allen Perkins (United States)
  • 2018: Vanessa Scharrer (Austria) 
  • 2019: Christopher Crouse (United States)
  • 2020: Austin Miller (United States)
  • 2021: Graham Brown (United States)
  • 2022: Zhen Lai (China)
  • 2023: Westley Felton (United States)

The Rockefeller Archive Center Fellowship +

The Rockefeller Archive Center Fellowship is awarded annually to an outstanding student who has successfully completed their course work at The L. Jeffrey Selznick School of Film Preservation.

Located in Sleepy Hollow, New York, the Rockefeller Archive Center (RAC) holds a diverse collection of film, video, and audio recordings. The Fellowship allows the recipient to work alongside the RAC Audiovisual Archivist and Collection Management staff by assisting in audiovisual preservation projects, surveys, inspections, vault management, and other pertinent audiovisual duties, as well as attending relevant meetings and training sessions.

Moreover, the Fellowship allows the recipient the opportunity to observe RAC procedures for acquisition, accessioning, preservation, and access, as well as approaches to licensing footage, strategies for arranging and describing audiovisual material, and assisting researchers, students, and scholars.

Interested graduates should possess strong film inspection skills, a keen attention to detail, a strong work ethic, organizational abilities, and an interest in the daily workings of a non-audiovisual-specific archival repository.

The Fellowship takes place during the summer months. The exact duration of the Fellowship is determined by both the RAC and the selected graduate; however, it is anticipated to last no longer than ten (10) weeks. The recipient receives hourly compensation and is expected to work 35 hours per week. The recipient will be responsible for securing housing, meals and other expenses.

Past Recipients

  • 2015: Jennifer Harvey (United States)
  • 2017: Katherine Pratt (United States)
  • 2018: Will Forsythe (United States)
  • 2019: Zachary Leming (United States)
  • 2020: Christian Balistreri (United States)
  • 2021: Nicole Diroff (United States)
  • 2023: Timbi Shepherd (United States)

The Ray and Sue Edmondson Fellowship/National Film and Sound Archive, Australia Fellowship +

The Ray and Sue Edmondson Fellowship/NFSA Fellowship supports a graduating student from The L. Jeffrey Selznick School of Film Preservation at George Eastman Museum, to embed with the National Film and Sound Archive of Australia as a member of the curatorial team for up to two months. The successful applicant will work on curatorial projects which may include research and selection; identification and original format analysis; collaboration with our technical experts re digitization, and potential curation of works for exhibition or published articles. This is a significant opportunity to experience active audiovisual archiving in both the analogue and digital realms, with the opportunity to explore areas of particular interest with archival colleagues and technical practitioners.

Past Recipients

  • 2018: Amit Patil (India)
  • 2019: Janine Winfree (United States)
  • 2019: Stefanie Tieste (Germany)
  • 2023: Madison Caress (United States)

The Museum of Modern Art Fellowship +

This eight-week fellowship at MoMA's Celeste Bartos Film Preservation Center will give the student the opportunity to work directly with the Museum's extensive collections -- from classic Hollywood and international silent cinema to masters of the American experimental film. The recipient will have the opportunity to work alongside members of the department's collections and curatorial teams on a number of ongoing projects including collection processing and organizing, condition assessments, cataloging, and special collections.  This fellowship is made possible by the Celeste Bartos Preservation Fund.

Past Recipients

  • 2023: Kathryn Wollan (United States)